top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLeo Tan Guang Hao

5:33 AM From Grun; Film; Life.

Welcome back dear reader! Although I can probably safely assume that most of you who would be reading this do actually know me in person, there's always the chance that some of you may have stumbled across this on my poetry and music account. Can't discount a chance, no matter how small it may seem to be.


Life in university is way more hectic than even I imagined, and I am someone who prides myself on my work-rate and self-discipline. It's probably not helped by my need for achievement, something which I am very aware is not necessarily one of my positive traits - sure, it does push me to work harder and persevere when the going gets tough, but it is the same trait that leads me to be tough on myself even as I am getting good grades, simply because I am aware I could have done better. It's a sort of double-edged sword, I suppose.


My programme is not an easy one, with the website recommending a minimum of 42 hours of study per week. Indeed, 312 people did not pass the Statistics 1A exams, to give you an example; and the passing grades for our exams tend to range between the 67-70% threshold. Not entirely unachievable, but definitely a challenge, and I've been trying my best to not just stay afloat but to reach the goals I've set for myself. Hence the first part of the title - 5:33AM on a Tuesday is the only time I can really find to write for this blog/website.


Here's a break for your brain, which has been reading for a decent period of time now. The view from my window before winter came into full force - look how the sunset paints the sky in shades of orange and gold! I'd like to shoot it with Kodak Gold some day.

Aside from that, much of the world is in a difficult place once again. In the past week alone, I can count the civil war in Ethiopia, the Rittenhouse trial, the riots in Rotterdam (much closer to my current home), Austria and parts of Germany going back into full lockdowns, the looming threat of stricter restrictions in Groningen - much is happening, and keeping up with it is both saddening and intriguing. Casting aside my love for keeping up-to-date on the goings-on in the world, I am supremely interested in politics, and keeping up with the world has been getting tiring. Even for me.


Here in Groningen, I've been balancing my busy school and work schedule with a few more relaxing things - I've started working out daily again (if only for 30 mins a day), I've been indulging my love for cooking and food, and I've been playing music and taking film photos. This probably won't come as a big surprise for those who have known me a little longer, because I've always been drawn to forms of artistic and creative expression. It is a pity however, that I have less time for writing poetry and longer essays nowadays, but life will find its way.


After my first set of exams - 3 weeks into my first semester - I took up my old Fujica Auto 7, took the train into the city, and snapped away. This is to add onto the set of film photos I took in Amsterdam; which I recently got developed. 35mm is quickly becoming one of my favourite forms of self-expression, and while it's not a particularly cheap hobby, it brings me joy. Which I suppose is the most important part, although the old adage "shoot film, stay broke" definitely rings true. I won't have much time for it in the next month or so either, so hopefully when Christmas period rolls around, the restrictions won't stop me from going out and shooting a few rolls of film.


The beautiful old beast herself! The first fully autofocus camera from Fuji, its date function is a tad outdated now considering it was only ever designed for use up until 1999 - not something you can fault the creators for, this was made back in 1981.

If Wix permits, I'll be updating this blog to contain a section for film photos I take. It's not cheap though, and if there's miraculously some rich person reading this who has money to spare - please fund my desire for a Rollei 35. Thank you very much. (Update: I got a page up for film! You can check it out at https://kingdractini96.wixsite.com/website/blank-page)


Life has been very kind to me over the past few months, and I cannot complain much about the hand it's been dealing me of late. It's hectic, and busy, and doesn't leave me much free time to myself; but I wouldn't change it for anything. I'm studying something I hold a genuine interest for at a great university, I have many people who I cherish and hold dear to me in life, and I pursue some creative outlets in what free time I can squeeze out. Isn't this the Millenial/Gen Z dream? Well, a little more disposable income wouldn't hope I suppose - but that's what everyone thinks regardless of how much they have.


Anyways, I shall end this post here. It feels good to be writing again, and I'll try and find time to do it whenever I can. I hope each and every one of you have a good day, and we'll meet again when we do. Until then.

20 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page